English version

EN / DE

As part of the “Hamburger Architektur Sommer” (the Hamburg architecture triennial) and to mark the 30th anniversary of the city partnership between Hamburg and Osaka, KAWAHARA KRAUSE ARCHITECTS are building a temporary pavilion at Planten un Blomen open to the public. Painted by Japanese artist Nobuko Watabiki, Belvedere serves as an interaction of art and architecture and creates a quiet retreat in the fluid space of the vast park.


SCHEDULE

Opening
The opening is scheduled for Friday, 26th of July 2019. For updated information please check this website.

Duration
The pavilion will be open to public from 27th of July 2019 to 25th of August 2019.

Opening Hours
every day 7am -11pm (opening hours of the park)

Events
A public demonstration of a Japanese tea ceremony and other events are planned to take place in the pavilion.
Please refer to this website for upcoming events.


PROJECT

In their works, KAWAHARA KRAUSE ARCHITECTS play with the threshold of the perception of space and in structures of repetitive elements transform mass into ephemeral buildings. Meanwhile, Nobuko Watabiki shows seemingly soft, primitive forms in her abstract and two-dimensional paintings, behind which the narrative depth hides. In the interaction of these seemingly contrary approaches of clear geometry and arbitrariness, ratio and intuition, the installation is conceived as a hovering roof framing the view while at the same time forming a quiet place of observation and contemplation. Like a filter it alters the view on the familiar garden.

Since 1988 a Japanese landscape garden has been part of Planten un Blomen, and in 1991 the biggest Japanese Garden in Europe was created. So, over the past decades there has been a long tradition of co-existing Japanese and European garden and landscape concepts in this extensive and ever-changing park. In many traditional Japanese gardens looking at the garden is more important than the actual use of it. Therefore, the temporary pavilion should offer a place of quiet observation in the heavily frequented park. Built as a geometrically structured roof over a platform, it creates an open yet protected space that allows wind and light to pass through. The soft gradient between the inside and outside – a typical element of Japanese spatial design – comes to life in this temporary pavilion through an interaction of art and architecture. Also, in European gardens and parks there has been a long tradition of staging the view. The typology of the belvedere first occurred in the 16th century, belvedere in parks and gardens in the shape of small temples were especially popular in the 19th century. Thus, in the year of the 30th anniversary of the city partnership between Hamburg and Osaka, the installation BELVEDERE merges the spatial ideas of architecture and landscape of Europe and Japan.

The pavilion being a temporary structure of only four weeks, the possibility of disassembling it into its components played a big role in the design process. Developed as a reciprocal structure, the structural system consists of many small, easy to handle elements. Next to being easy to transport and assemble it also allows a simple disassembly into single elements. Deciding to use recycled and recyclable cardboard as the building material lead to a sustainable solution. The possibilities involving paper as construction material are tested beyond limits in this pavilion. Thus, the project demonstrates the various usages of paper as well as the high potential for simple constructions to a broad public.

Site
Kleine Wallanlagen, Planten un Blomen, Hamburg

Usage
exhibition / event

Size
50m²

Structural System
cardboard, timber

Structural Engineer
B+G Ingenieure Bollinger und Grohmann GmbH
Prof. Klaus Bollinger, Andreas Rutschmann

Project Team
KAWAHARA Tatsuya, Ellen Kristina KRAUSE, Lea Frenz

Collaboration
Nobuko Watabiki (artist)
Achim Schnell, Rodenborg

Carpenter:
Michael Marx


GALLERY


DRAWING


MODEL


PROCESS


SPONSORS

Masaki Abe, Fumiyuki Adachi, Mika Adachi, Yuki Aiba, Yasushi Aoki, Takamitsu Hamaura, Naomi Hashiba, Yusuke Hashiba, Eri Honda, So Hoshino, Naoya Ichikawa, Hiroyasu Ishikawa, Shoichiro Kurita, Takeo Ikukawa, Jun Iwai, Hiroyuki Kawashima, Yohei Mitsui, Seiichi Miyawaki, Shohei Mori, Kurato Muramoto, Iku Nakamura, Yoshihide Nishikawa, Takahiro Okuya, Ryuhei Tadakoshi, Yumiko Watanabe, Yutaka Watanabe

HELPER

Selcan Emer, Tessa Gaunt, Michael Göster, Helge Hasselberg, Felix Joensson, Hyo-Ju Kim, Kengo Oshima, Lars Patzelt, Henrik Weber, Chihiro Wunsch

EN / DE

In Planten un Blomen errichten KAWAHARA KRAUSE ARCHITECTS im Rahmen des Hamburger Architektur Sommers 2019 und anlässlich des dreißigjährigen Jubiläums der Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Hamburg und Osaka einen temporären Pavillon, der öffentlich zugänglich ist. Das von der japanischen Künstlerin Nobuko Watabiki bemalte BELVEDERE markiert im Wechselspiel von Kunst und Architektur einen Ort der Ruhe im fließenden Raum der weitläufigen Parkanlagen.


TERMINE

Opening
Die Eröffnung findet am Freitag, den 26.07.2019 statt. Für aktuelle Informationen bitte hier nachschauen.

Standzeit
Der Pavillon wird von 27.07.2019 bis 25.08.2019 in Planten un Blomen stehen.

Öffnungszeiten
täglich 7-23 Uhr (Parköffnungszeiten)

Events
Unter anderem ist eine öffentliche Vorführung einer japanischen Teezeremonie geplant.
Hierzu und für weitere Veranstaltungen bitte die aktuellen Informationen auf dieser Webseite beachten.


PROJEKT

Während KAWAHARA KRAUSE ARCHITECTS in ihren Arbeiten die Grenzen der Raumwahrnehmung ausloten und in Strukturen repetitiver Einzelelemente Masse in ephemere Gebilde verwandeln, zeigt Nobuku Watabiki in ihren abstrakten, flächigen Bildern ohne räumliche Tiefe farbenfrohe und in ihrer Textur sanft erscheinende orginäre Formen, hinter deren vordergründiger Abstraktheit sich die narrative Tiefe versteckt. Im Zusammenspiel der scheinbar gegensätzlichen Arbeitsweisen, zwischen klarer Geometrie und Zufälligkeit, Rationalität und Intuition, entsteht die Installation als schwebendes Dach, das die Aussicht inszeniert und zugleich einen fokussierten Ort der Ruhe schafft, der zu Betrachtung und Innehalten einlädt. Wie ein Filter verändert er den Blick auf den bekannten Garten.

Bereits seit 1988 gibt es in Planten un Blomen einen japanischen Landschaftsgarten, 1991 wurde zusätzlich der größte japanische Garten Europas erstellt. In dem sich durch zahlreiche Gartenausstellungen über die Jahrzehnte immer wieder wandelnden großen Park gibt es somit seit langer Zeit ein Zusammenspiel japanischer und europäischer Garten- und Landschaftskonzepte. In vielen traditionellen japanischen Gärten steht die Betrachtung des Gartens eher im Vordergrund als dessen Benutzung. Und so soll der temporäre Pavillon einen Ort der ruhigen Betrachtung im viel benutzten Park bieten. Als offenes Dach über einer Plattform errichtet, bietet er einen offenen und doch geschützten Raum, der Wind und Licht hindurchlässt. Der sanfte Übergang von innen und außen – ein typisches Element der japanischen Raumerfahrung – wird im Zusammenspiel von Kunst und Architektur als temporärer Pavillon verbildlicht. Aber auch in europäischen Gärten und Parks hat die Inszenierung der Aussicht Tradition. Die Typologie des Belvedere ist seit dem 16. Jahrhundert bekannt, besonders im 19. Jahrhundert erfreuten sich in Form kleiner Tempel in Parks und Gärten errichtete Belvedere großer Beliebtheit. Somit soll die Installation „Belvedere“ in Planten un Blomen zum dreißigjährigen Jubiläum der Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Hamburg und Osaka eine Brücke schlagen zwischen europäischen und japanischen räumlichen Ideen von Architektur und Landschaft.

Als temporäre Struktur für nur vier Wochen errichtet, spielt beim Entwurf des Pavillons dessen Zerlegbarkeit in Einzelteile nach Ende der Nutzung eine große Rolle. Als reziproke Struktur entwickelt, besteht die Tragstruktur aus vielen kleineren, gut handbaren Elementen. Neben dem leichten Transport und Aufbau ist damit auch ein Zerlegen in einzelne Elemente zum Abbau einfach möglich. Mit der Entscheidung für Pappe als Baumaterial fiel die Wahl auf ein recyclingfähiges und bereits aus Recyclingmaterialien hergestelltes Material. Die Möglichkeiten des Bauens mit Pappe werden in dem Pavillonbau über das bisher Übliche hinaus ausgetestet. Die vielfältigen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Papier und Pappe als auch das große Potential einfachen Bauens sollen mit dem Projekt einer breiten Öffentlichkeit aufzeigt werden.

Ort
Kleine Wallanlagen, Planten un Blomen, Hamburg

Nutzung
Ausstellung/ Veranstaltung

Größe
50m²

Tragwerk
Pappe, Holz

Tragwerksplanung
B+G Ingenieure Bollinger und Grohmann GmbH
Prof. Klaus Bollinger, Andreas Rutschmann

Projektteam
KAWAHARA Tatsuya, Ellen Kristina KRAUSE, Lea Frenz

Zusammenarbeit:
Nobuko Watabiki (Künstlerin)
Achim Schnell, Rodenborg

Schreiner:
Michael Marx


GALERIE


KONSTRUKTION


SPONSOREN

Klöpfer Holzhandel, Masaki Abe, Fumiyuki Adachi, Mika Adachi, Yuki Aiba, Yasushi Aoki, Takamitsu Hamaura, Naomi Hashiba, Yusuke Hashiba, Eri Honda, So Hoshino, Naoya Ichikawa, Hiroyasu Ishikawa, Shoichiro Kurita, Takeo Ikukawa, Jun Iwai, Hiroyuki Kawashima, Yohei Mitsui, Seiichi Miyawaki, Shohei Mori, Kurato Muramoto, Iku Nakamura, Yoshihide Nishikawa, Takahiro Okuya, Ryuhei Tadakoshi, Yumiko Watanabe, Yutaka Watanabe


HELFER*INNEN

Selcan Emer, Tessa Gaunt, Michael Göster, Helge Hasselberg, Felix Joensson, Hyo-Ju Kim, Kengo Oshima, Lars Patzelt, Henrik Weber, Chihiro Wunsch